Chex Quest Fan Forums

Chex Quest => Fan Projects => The Lost Quest => Topic started by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 06:34:08 AM

Title: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 06:34:08 AM
Right so in one of the levels (I think it was called the "red storage room") I got stuck. I found a Green-ish key up on some sort of balcony, and a Green-ish door, (of the same shade of green-ish), behind some rocks, but the Green-ish key doesn't unlock the Green-ish door cause the Green-ish key is the "Yellow FlemKey" and the Green-ish door needs a "Green Key".. I can't find the Green Key anywhere, and the Yellow FlemKey doesn't unlock anything else.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 10, 2014, 02:22:52 PM
You should be using chex.wad as the IWAD, not chex3.wad (you can download it from the gallery)
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 04:41:23 PM
Kay, thanks i'll try that. Reply when I'm done
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 04:43:25 PM
Wait, where is it in the downloads?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 05:27:46 PM
You should be using chex.wad as the IWAD, not chex3.wad (you can download it from the gallery)

Where in the Downloads is it?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: xbolt on July 10, 2014, 06:27:34 PM
Here's the Gallery link:

http://gallery.xboltz.net/downloads/#Chex_Quest_Compact
Title: Still Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 08:30:43 PM
Okay, so I got past that, but (still stuck in The Red Storage Room) Theres a point where theres one platform taking up a third of the room, A pit with another deeper pit in it, and another third-of-the-room platform, with a Timer Switch (those ones that immediately turn off). and a broken door next to the second third-of-the-room platform. I managed to leap the pit and pull the switch, but I can't make it back. did I just screw up? was I supposed to do something before leaping the pit?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 10, 2014, 08:39:08 PM
Here's the Gallery link:

http://gallery.xboltz.net/downloads/#Chex_Quest_Compact

Okay, so I got past that, but (still stuck in The Red Storage Room) Theres a point where theres one platform taking up a third of the room, A pit with another deeper pit in it, and another third-of-the-room platform, with a Timer Switch (those ones that immediately turn off). and a broken door next to the second third-of-the-room platform. I managed to leap the pit and pull the switch, but I can't make it back. did I just screw up? was I supposed to do something before leaping the pit?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 10, 2014, 11:39:39 PM
Ah, yes, arch's jump mazes XD
Welll... You'll have to figure it out for yourself until I actually go play (can't right now)
Also, please try not to double post, it's okay but frowned upon... Editing your post is better (sorry for the backseat modding :P)
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 11, 2014, 12:48:10 AM
Ah, yes, arch's jump mazes XD
Welll... You'll have to figure it out for yourself until I actually go play (can't right now)
Also, please try not to double post, it's okay but frowned upon... Editing your post is better (sorry for the backseat modding :P)

Oh, i'm new here and can't figure out how to delete posts, but sometimes when I try to post with a quote, it will post 2 for no reason.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 11, 2014, 01:56:48 AM
Huh. That's odd...
But only mods/admins can delete posts AFAIK... But you can edit your posts by clicking "modify." And no worries! Nice to have someone new here! ;)
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Awesomedude249 on July 11, 2014, 02:02:58 AM
I think he's talking about the jumpmaze at the end of E1M2.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 11, 2014, 02:05:01 AM
Time to fire up TLQ...
(Also, off topic, this is the most active I've seen the forums in a while!)

EDIT: Okay, just realized it's not the one in E1M2, he was talking about E1M4 red storage... Mind posting a screenshot?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 11, 2014, 02:58:55 AM
Time to fire up TLQ...
(Also, off topic, this is the most active I've seen the forums in a while!)

EDIT: Okay, just realized it's not the one in E1M2, he was talking about E1M4 red storage... Mind posting a screenshot?


Sure of course, But how does one do that?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 11, 2014, 03:05:16 AM
1. Hit the "prntscr" button on your keyboard.
2. Go into the folder you have GZDoom in (it should automatically save the screenshot for you)
3. Upload the image to an image-sharing site like photobucket or flickr
4. Paste the link to the image inside image tags:  img http://<Enter your URL here> /img (with brackets around the imgs; otherwise it wouldn't show up
Or, alternatively, you could attach it as a file
But I've succumbed to the temptation to play now xD This mod is too good

EDIT: This room?
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 11, 2014, 03:45:46 AM
1. Hit the "prntscr" button on your keyboard.
2. Go into the folder you have GZDoom in (it should automatically save the screenshot for you)
3. Upload the image to an image-sharing site like photobucket or flickr
4. Paste the link to the image inside image tags:  img http://<Enter your URL here> /img (with brackets around the imgs; otherwise it wouldn't show up
Or, alternatively, you could attach it as a file
But I've succumbed to the temptation to play now xD This mod is too good

EDIT: This room?
Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.


no, or maybe that is a new version of mine, but this one.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 11, 2014, 03:52:55 PM
hello? Could someone tell me what I did wrong?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 11, 2014, 06:48:34 PM
Hey, sorry, the forums are rather slow ;)
But you should be able to get back across... Even though there is slime, there are stairs somewhere... Are you running it in OpenGL mode? Because I thiiink 3d water/slime wouldn't show up in software mode... I don't know for sure. And you're running Beta 21, right? Through GZDoom?
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 11, 2014, 10:01:53 PM
Hey, sorry, the forums are rather slow ;)
But you should be able to get back across... Even though there is slime, there are stairs somewhere... Are you running it in OpenGL mode? Because I thiiink 3d water/slime wouldn't show up in software mode... I don't know for sure. And you're running Beta 21, right? Through GZDoom?

1. No, there's no slime.
2. Yes I am.
3. Huh,  that's cool.
 And
4. Yes, I am.


EDIT: Wait, on the point of the stairs, There are to stairways, but I can't reach either. They're too high up, and I can't jump across to them.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 11, 2014, 10:47:50 PM
Huh, that's odd... There should be slime in that area...
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: MajorSlime on July 12, 2014, 01:04:20 AM
There should most definitely be a slime pool there. Your NOT running it in OpenGL Hardware mode. Probably have to find it in the options and turn it on. I believe its Display Options -> Renderer -> Hardware mode (or something similar)
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 12, 2014, 01:30:20 AM
There should most definitely be a slime pool there. Your NOT running it in OpenGL Hardware mode. Probably have to find it in the options and turn it on. I believe its Display Options -> Renderer -> Hardware mode (or something similar)


... okay. right so Ya I found that and it was off :facepalm, I AM SO BAD AT THIS, either way, I still can't figure out how to get back.i'm always off by jsut a bit.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: noob1234 on July 12, 2014, 04:13:23 AM
There was slime, right? The stairs are low enough that you can get on them by jumping out of the slime.
Title: Re: Stuck in The Lost Quest.
Post by: Ether Bot on July 12, 2014, 09:21:56 PM
There was slime, right? The stairs are low enough that you can get on them by jumping out of the slime.

OOOOOOOHH! I WAS TRYING TO JUMP ACROSS THE SLIME! Kay I'll try that, will edit when done.
SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal