Deprecated: Array and string offset access syntax with curly braces is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Subs.php on line 4010

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 168

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 178

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 183

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 184

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 220

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 223

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 235

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 250

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /home/chexqu5/public_html/Sources/Load.php on line 268
Print Page - Wad compilation

Chex Quest Fan Forums

Chex Quest => Modding => Topic started by: Chex Freak on November 05, 2010, 12:59:51 PM

Title: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 05, 2010, 12:59:51 PM
I'm planing to make a chex quest mod but only one thing is holding me back. compling the sprites I make into a wad file so I can use it in Doom Builder. if any one could enlighten me on the subject it would be apreciated.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 05, 2010, 02:03:15 PM
Well, you'll need an editor, I would reccomend SLADE 3 (http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24955)

Open up your wad with the maps in SLADE, and add two new entries, SS_START and SS_END.

Then, go to Archive -> Import files and select the sprite(s) you want to import.

Make sure the sprites are between SS_START and SS_END

that's it!

EDIT - I'm assuming you just want to replace existing monsters' sprites. If you want to make NEW monsters, you need to use DECORATE (http://zdoom.org/wiki/Decorate)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 05, 2010, 04:29:35 PM
Well, you'll need an editor, I would reccomend SLADE 3 (http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24955)

Open up your wad with the maps in SLADE, and add two new entries, SS_START and SS_END.

Then, go to Archive -> Import files and select the sprite(s) you want to import.

Make sure the sprites are between SS_START and SS_END

that's it!

EDIT - I'm assuming you just want to replace existing monsters' sprites. If you want to make NEW monsters, you need to use DECORATE (http://zdoom.org/wiki/Decorate)


I'm going to edith the monsters and the Zorchers, and I fofound that XWE works well.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 05, 2010, 04:32:24 PM
Beware of XWE, it's been known to eat wads! It almost destroyed my project about 15 times.

Slade 3 does everything that XWE does, and more, except without the bugs. XWE is out of date for DooM engine modding... the only reason to keep it around is if you want to edit ROTT or something that Slade can't do.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: LAZ Trooper on November 05, 2010, 11:15:47 PM
People are always saying XWE has corrupted their wads, but I've never had any problems except the wad-open-in-DB2-and-XWE-at-once problem.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 06, 2010, 02:43:44 AM
I've had it destroyed my mod, but it was so rare that it might of been human error. I prefer XWE; but it is your choice.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 06, 2010, 03:23:36 AM
I need to make a topic about this.  :facepalm

The thing is, its got a glitch so that if you have certain stuff highlighted when you close it, it'll screw up. It'll also do this if your typing cursor is currently active in decorate or something. If you always go select a sprite before you close, though, it'll be fine.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 06, 2010, 11:34:33 AM
Have you guys even tried SLADE?

It even has something like intellisense, if you type something like "A_Jump("

It will give you a pop up that says (A_Jump(Chance,offset)), so you don't even need to reference the wiki anymore while you're typing your DECORATE code.

Slade can play .mp3s, ogg, WAV, MOD, IT,... every kind of sound/music format imaginable. XWE only supported .mid and .wav, which didn't even work correctly. The .wav player played the sound at about a quarter speed, and the .mid player required you to select a midi out device, which can be hard to find on newer computers (on my computer, it's actually hidden). Slade even supports .pk3s and .zips, and also the UDMF map format, which would baffle XWE.

The sprites are rendered in true color in the preview menu, unlike XWE which tries to show it in the doom pallete because GL ports didn't exist when it was made. The transparency actually works for .pngs, instead of being black like in XWE.


The PNAMES/TEXTUREx system is a million times less buggy and it's really easy to select which base resource you want to use.  I remember the "add to patch names" function rarely worked, and sometimes XWE showed a patch as being added to the patch table, but it really wasn't.

With all these improvements, why do you guys insist on using XWE? For me, it was a no brainer to switch.  :(
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: QuadrumpusGuy on November 06, 2010, 11:36:02 AM
Okay.

I think it's about time I downloaded SLADE
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 06, 2010, 12:00:53 PM
Actually, I just checked, and Slade can even open Rott ("masked rott patches with translucency are not supported", but XWE had trouble with that too), Duke Nukem 3d, Shadow Warrior, and every other build engine game's data files (although that's still in development, a few lumps don't work, but still, you can extract the graphics from it).
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: QuadrumpusGuy on November 06, 2010, 12:30:33 PM
The Download for Slade 3.0 doesn't work on their website....  :-\
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 06, 2010, 12:52:19 PM
hmm... it seems to be working for me on Firefox... http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=downloads
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: QuadrumpusGuy on November 06, 2010, 01:23:10 PM
Quote from: Error Message
Unable to call zip command. See webserver error log for details.
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/mancunet/websvn-2.3.0/dl.php:196) in /home/mancunet/websvn-2.3.0/dl.php on line 277
Unable to open file: trunk.r774.zip
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 06, 2010, 01:37:59 PM
hmm... you're downloading the trunk. There's a pre-compiled binary file that works fine for me, try this http://slade.mancubus.net/files/slade_30_b7.zip

I reported the broken trunk download.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: QuadrumpusGuy on November 06, 2010, 01:40:30 PM
hmm... you're downloading the trunk. There's a pre-compiled binary file that works fine for me, try this http://slade.mancubus.net/files/slade_30_b7.zip

in any case, I reported the broken trunk download.

Thank you!  :)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 06, 2010, 09:01:22 PM
Have you guys even tried SLADE?

It even has something like intellisense, if you type something like "A_Jump("

It will give you a pop up that says (A_Jump(Chance,offset)), so you don't even need to reference the wiki anymore while you're typing your DECORATE code.

Slade can play .mp3s, ogg, WAV, MOD, IT,... every kind of sound/music format imaginable. XWE only supported .mid and .wav, which didn't even work correctly. The .wav player played the sound at about a quarter speed, and the .mid player required you to select a midi out device, which can be hard to find on newer computers (on my computer, it's actually hidden). Slade even supports .pk3s and .zips, and also the UDMF map format, which would baffle XWE.

The sprites are rendered in true color in the preview menu, unlike XWE which tries to show it in the doom pallete because GL ports didn't exist when it was made. The transparency actually works for .pngs, instead of being black like in XWE.


The PNAMES/TEXTUREx system is a million times less buggy and it's really easy to select which base resource you want to use.  I remember the "add to patch names" function rarely worked, and sometimes XWE showed a patch as being added to the patch table, but it really wasn't.

With all these improvements, why do you guys insist on using XWE? For me, it was a no brainer to switch.  :(

To be honest, mostly laziness.  :D

I've been use XWE for 3 or so years, and I'm too use to it to relearn another editor. I'll probably switch eventually. 
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 07, 2010, 09:55:08 PM
Same, except I haven't been using it that long.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 07, 2010, 10:15:32 PM
Hey, a new release

Slade 3.0 - link - http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=downloads

Download the first two links on the page, extract the .pdb folder to the same place you extract the first .zip to. And, you're all set.

If trying it out is still too much effort, there's nothing more I can do (aside from copying and pasting the links here so you only have to make two clicks to download it instead of 3)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 08, 2010, 12:50:47 AM
I found Slade to be a little easier to use than XWE.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 08, 2010, 03:06:00 AM
I take it back. Five seconds of playing with it I find that it is like a updated XWE combined with SlumpED. For a new guy, this is perfect.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 08, 2010, 03:21:12 AM
yeah, i just looked at the menu once, and liked it
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 08, 2010, 09:02:36 AM
For a new guy, this is perfect.

you give XWE too much credit...  ::) I used XWE for a few years before switching, and I never got used to its bugs.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: QuadrumpusGuy on November 08, 2010, 06:32:21 PM
For some reason on the cruddy computer, XWE doesn't save lumps when I save multiple lumps into a folder. I may redownload XWE there.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 11, 2010, 12:46:34 AM
I finished edditing the zorchers and am now working on the flemoids. The only thing is how do I add new flemoids to my wad?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 11, 2010, 04:43:28 PM
You cannot depending on the source port you are using. (ex: Zdoom based engines can make new enemies through decorate.)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 11, 2010, 05:31:19 PM
If you want to make new flemoids, you should probably use zdoom or GzDoom.

I'm not sure if the other ports can handle new monsters... I've only used zdoom based engines.

I'd recommend zdoom anyway, since it's well documented. Here's the wiki http://zdoom.org/wiki/Main_Page
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 11, 2010, 09:05:43 PM
You cannot depending on the source port you are using. (ex: Zdoom based engines can make new enemies through decorate.)
I'm using the zdoom engine and moding the chex3.wad. how do I add the monsters that where taken out from doom back in, and replace them with the flemoid I create.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 11, 2010, 09:31:46 PM
They where never taken out. All you need to do is replace their sprites. (Ex. BOS2)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 11, 2010, 10:01:58 PM
They where never taken out. All you need to do is replace their sprites. (Ex. BOS2)

That's not right

All of the doom monsters have "Game Doom" in their definition, they'll be ignored in a game based off of chex quest 3.

However, you can inherit from those doom classes, for example, if you wanted to make a cyberdemon replacement for chex quest, you'd write

Code: [Select]
actor ChexCyberDemon : Cyberdemon replaces Cyberdemon
{
      Game Chex
}

if you did this, and replaced all of the sprites that go along with the cyberdemon with your chex versions, your monster would show up and act exactly like a cyberdemon

Your sprites, if you wanted to replace the cyberdemon would be the CYBR sprites found in this article (http://zdoom.org/wiki/Cyberdemon)

You would take a bunch of sprites and name them the correct letter and rotation, and they would show up in game (if it all went right).
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 12, 2010, 12:58:47 AM
I'm trying to replace the reverent, but I geting confused with the sprite set up, I could e-mail them to some one who's willing and has more sanity then I have, if that's posibal.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 12, 2010, 03:35:08 AM
You, know, i'm working on a revenant replacement.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 12, 2010, 06:09:47 AM
You, know, i'm working on a revenant replacement.

think you could help me?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 12, 2010, 09:45:08 AM
They where never taken out. All you need to do is replace their sprites. (Ex. BOS2)

That's not right

All of the doom monsters have "Game Doom" in their definition, they'll be ignored in a game based off of chex quest 3.


Yes I know, but I wasn't sure if it was for simply Chex Quest, like he said "Chex Quest mod." I haven't modded in a while, so I need to brush up on it a little. (Or a lot.)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 12, 2010, 10:34:12 AM
Yes I know, but I wasn't sure if it was for simply Chex Quest, like he said "Chex Quest mod." I haven't modded in a while, so I need to brush up on it a little. (Or a lot.)

I'm using the zdoom engine and moding the chex3.wad. how do I add the monsters that where taken out from doom back in, and replace them with the flemoid I create.

Also, monsters in both chex.wad and chex3.wad will not work under "game doom". There's only one version of chex that works with "Game Doom", and that's TNCQ/Slimenator's IWAD.

Anyway, I'll always tell you what you did wrong, if your advice doesn't work. So I guess both you and the OP will learn something today. :)

I'm trying to replace the reverent, but I geting confused with the sprite set up, I could e-mail them to some one who's willing and has more sanity then I have, if that's posibal.

Sure, I'll help. Send it to me in a pm.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 12, 2010, 09:49:36 PM
You, know, i'm working on a revenant replacement.

think you could help me?

Well, mine was going to be a bipedicus with a staff and tentacles. To resurrect, it raise its staff, which glows with zorch energy.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 12, 2010, 10:02:21 PM
I think you're thinking of the Arch Vile, ChexMaster. The revenant is the walking skeleton that fires homing rockets.

anyway, I'm working on your code, for some reason it shows up, but it's invisible. I haven't figured that out yet.

-The images are in the right format
-The sprites are called correctly in DECORATE
-I set the renderstyle to "normal", just in case
-I set "Game Chex", although if it made a game error it wouldn't show up at all.


My guess is that this has something to do with the fact that the revenant's missile is NOT replaced, and isn't even set to "game chex".

I'll figure it out... if I can't I know people who can help.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 12, 2010, 10:02:59 PM
You, know, i'm working on a revenant replacement.

think you could help me?

Well, mine was going to be a bipedicus with a staff and tentacles. To resurrect, it raise its staff, which glows with zorch energy.

Mine is called Flemiodus Vulgaris, basically a commonus with a bipeadicus head.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 13, 2010, 02:54:43 AM
I think you're thinking of the Arch Vile, ChexMaster. The revenant is the walking skeleton that fires homing rockets.

anyway, I'm working on your code, for some reason it shows up, but it's invisible. I haven't figured that out yet.

-The images are in the right format
-The sprites are called correctly in DECORATE
-I set the renderstyle to "normal", just in case
-I set "Game Chex", although if it made a game error it wouldn't show up at all.


My guess is that this has something to do with the fact that the revenant's missile is NOT replaced, and isn't even set to "game chex".

I'll figure it out... if I can't I know people who can help.


The scripts have come a long way since I last modded, but I might be able to help...
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 13, 2010, 03:20:37 AM
I think you're thinking of the Arch Vile, ChexMaster. The revenant is the walking skeleton that fires homing rockets.

anyway, I'm working on your code, for some reason it shows up, but it's invisible. I haven't figured that out yet.

-The images are in the right format
-The sprites are called correctly in DECORATE
-I set the renderstyle to "normal", just in case
-I set "Game Chex", although if it made a game error it wouldn't show up at all.


My guess is that this has something to do with the fact that the revenant's missile is NOT replaced, and isn't even set to "game chex".

I'll figure it out... if I can't I know people who can help.


Whoops.  :facepalm
I never actually played, but now I remember that one.

You, know, i'm working on a revenant replacement.

think you could help me?

Well, mine was going to be a bipedicus with a staff and tentacles. To resurrect, it raise its staff, which glows with zorch energy.

Mine is called Flemiodus Vulgaris, basically a commonus with a bipeadicus head.

You mean BWA head?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Chex Freak on November 13, 2010, 08:44:40 PM
I think you're thinking of the Arch Vile, ChexMaster. The revenant is the walking skeleton that fires homing rockets.

anyway, I'm working on your code, for some reason it shows up, but it's invisible. I haven't figured that out yet.

-The images are in the right format
-The sprites are called correctly in DECORATE
-I set the renderstyle to "normal", just in case
-I set "Game Chex", although if it made a game error it wouldn't show up at all.


My guess is that this has something to do with the fact that the revenant's missile is NOT replaced, and isn't even set to "game chex".

I'll figure it out... if I can't I know people who can help.


Whoops.  :facepalm
I never actually played, but now I remember that one.

You, know, i'm working on a revenant replacement.

think you could help me?

Well, mine was going to be a bipedicus with a staff and tentacles. To resurrect, it raise its staff, which glows with zorch energy.

Mine is called Flemiodus Vulgaris, basically a commonus with a bipeadicus head.

You mean BWA head?
the unarmoured one
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 13, 2010, 11:43:18 PM
aren't the two head the same?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 13, 2010, 11:47:46 PM
No. The Bipedicus is a larger then the Commonus...
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 13, 2010, 11:57:10 PM
and it has a much longer nose
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: LAZ Trooper on November 16, 2010, 12:54:44 AM
Hey, a new release

Slade 3.0 - link - http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=downloads

Download the first two links on the page, extract the .pdb folder to the same place you extract the first .zip to. And, you're all set.

If trying it out is still too much effort, there's nothing more I can do (aside from copying and pasting the links here so you only have to make two clicks to download it instead of 3)
Erm... I downloaded the first two links, extracted them to the same folder, but it's complaining about missing a .dll
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: 75 on November 16, 2010, 11:46:25 AM
hmm... what OS are you using?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: MajorSlime on November 16, 2010, 04:26:48 PM
Oh, you need to download the second to last link at the VERY bottom. Something about 2010 runtime libraries.
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: LAZ Trooper on November 19, 2010, 12:24:41 AM
Okay, I've downloaded everything you guys have said to download, but it still says it's missing MSVCP100.dll

(And I use XP)
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: ChexCommander on November 19, 2010, 05:01:37 PM
Visual C++ runtimes?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: LAZ Trooper on November 21, 2010, 12:27:35 PM
I downloaded the first three things on the download page... shouldn't that be all I need?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: Replica on November 21, 2010, 06:48:19 PM
I downloaded the first three things on the download page... shouldn't that be all I need?

At the bottom of the page there is a box with three downloads, you did download the first link in the box right?
Title: Re: Wad compilation
Post by: ChexCommander on November 21, 2010, 07:19:28 PM
Yeah, looks like you need the Visual C++ 2010 runtimes, first link on the Extras part.