Poll

If anyone was going to do anything with a classic engine, which would you rather have?

Lo-Res Sprites
0 (0%)
Hi-Res Sprites
9 (64.3%)
Lo-Res Models
2 (14.3%)
Hi-Res Models
2 (14.3%)
Dont care
1 (7.1%)

Total Members Voted: 14

Author Topic: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?  (Read 3004 times)

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11780
  • Keelah se'lai
Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« on: October 15, 2008, 11:40:23 PM »
just wanted to ask. Most seem opposed to any type of model, so I was just wondering what you would choose?

now by classic engine, we're talking something before 1999 or maybe a year close by.

If you post an answer, put the engine you had in mind when you made this decision in your post.

THIS IS NOT AN IDEA OR ANYTHING. I just wanna see what y'all think engine/model wise.

(BTW, this EXCLUDES Doom 3, Half Life 2, and anything that happened after those games. Those are all highresolution models in highresolution environments, and y'all tend to lean towards all or nothing in quality...)
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Chex Quest Fan Forums

Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« on: October 15, 2008, 11:40:23 PM »

Offline Nomekop

  • a.k.a. frozenLake
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 439
  • Flem Balloon (Flemoidus Hydrogenus)
Re: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2008, 06:20:04 PM »
Source Engine

What?

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11780
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2008, 12:26:29 AM »
...I just said no half life 2.

the question was not what engine, but what quality of objects you'd like...AKA sprites or models, then Hires or Lores
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline Batmanifestdestiny

  • oddball
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4631
  • Yeah, that's right.
    • CQ Hideout
Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2008, 02:21:00 PM »
I would go with high-res sprites, but ONLY IF THEY'RE DONE RIGHT!

I was thinking of Wolf3D at the time, and I've seen some "High-res" sprites that are just fuzzier low-res ones, and I've seen some that are high-res, but don't even resemble the original sprites!

please visit my website.


Use the CQ IRC channel!

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11780
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2008, 03:16:32 PM »
Again, we're talking about classic engines. Hires sprites...

and this isn't talking about what has been done or stuff like that, If you could do anything with a classic engine, what would you use?
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline Nomekop

  • a.k.a. frozenLake
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 439
  • Flem Balloon (Flemoidus Hydrogenus)
Re: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2008, 01:46:18 PM »
Ok I change my mind

Highres Cel shaded models

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11780
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2008, 12:03:40 AM »
...if you can acomplish that in a classic engine ><
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline Batmanifestdestiny

  • oddball
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4631
  • Yeah, that's right.
    • CQ Hideout
Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2008, 03:12:03 PM »
...if you can acomplish that in a classic engine ><
orly?

please visit my website.


Use the CQ IRC channel!

Offline Nomekop

  • a.k.a. frozenLake
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 439
  • Flem Balloon (Flemoidus Hydrogenus)
Re: Lo-Res, Hi-Res, or Models?
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2008, 05:40:32 PM »
Make a 3d Model then copy it make it slightly bigger and invert it

 


Web Hosting by InMotion Hosting