Author Topic: Hey guys :)  (Read 6181 times)

Offline WindowsVistaLover5570

  • The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 359
  • Just call me Mupen.
Hey guys :)
« on: July 01, 2015, 02:38:34 AM »
 Hey, WindowsVistaLover5570 here, and I have been playing since Chex Quest 3. I have been porting the original to Windows,  and I will give you the link to the first beta when it is complete. It is pretty buggy, but I will give it to anyone who will help edit the Chex Quest IWAD. If you want it, just request it. Anyways, I have been playing lately and I like the first one.
I am hapy to help anyone new since I have always had help when I first join. Anyways, I have been playing lately. I just dont know how to represent myself.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 02:42:09 AM by WindowsVistaLover5570 »

Chex Quest Fan Forums

Hey guys :)
« on: July 01, 2015, 02:38:34 AM »

Offline ChexMaster2109

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4307
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2015, 03:50:30 AM »
What do you mean 'porting' to Windows? It runs natively in Windows.
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline WindowsVistaLover5570

  • The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 359
  • Just call me Mupen.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2015, 05:35:23 AM »
Actually, no. You must be thinking about Chex Quest 3. Chex Quest 3 runs through ZDoom and this runs through GZDoom. The original ran through DOS. The only ways to get it in Windows is to either:
1. Run it through a Doom source port.
or
2. Run it through DOSBox.
Either way, the screen is too big, and the display is ugly.
This, with the help of a small group, will fix the display, and the final release will combine every single Chex Quest into unofficial Chex Quest 4.

Offline WindowsVistaLover5570

  • The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 359
  • Just call me Mupen.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2015, 05:37:25 AM »
Oh, and how do I upload and make a fan-made project on here?

Offline Drwalrustein

  • Walrsuses
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 456
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2015, 11:30:14 AM »
Chex quest runs fine on my sourceport and it works on most source ports maybe your computer can't run chex on a source port and doesn't work on dos then go to the tech support.

« Last Edit: July 01, 2015, 11:41:47 AM by Drwalrustein »

Offline ChexMaster2109

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4307
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2015, 05:54:27 PM »
1. DOSbox for Windows is natively running as far as I'm concerned.


2. There are DOZENS of source ports already out there that can run it. ZDoom, GZDoom, Zandronum, the list goes on.




As far as I see, there is no need to port the original DOS program to a windows environment. You can do whatever you want, but it seems like a waste of time.
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2084
  • I'm not really sure.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2015, 09:02:35 PM »
I think he's trying to run the original chex.exe on modern windows. That must be it, cause the original chex.wad IWAD works fine on any source port.
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline ChexMaster2109

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4307
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2015, 09:36:01 PM »
We know what he's doing, thank you Awesomedude.
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2084
  • I'm not really sure.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2015, 09:45:06 PM »
OK, just making sure.
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline WindowsVistaLover5570

  • The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 359
  • Just call me Mupen.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2015, 03:35:58 AM »
I think he's trying to run the original chex.exe on modern windows. That must be it, cause the original chex.wad IWAD works fine on any source port.
No. It is in beta 8 and it runs in GZDoom. I also don't want people to have to download the entire Chex Quest zip, which is about 20 something megs. I still am waiting for someone to fix the bug with the graphics so they display right. As of now, the bug is still not fixed.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2015, 03:38:23 AM by WindowsVistaLover5570 »

Offline ChexMaster2109

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4307
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2015, 04:09:09 AM »
We really need to stop having the same conversation in multiple topics. Again, resolution has nothing to do with the WAD file. It has to do with the source port engine, which in this case is GZDoom.

I have a feeling I know what your talking about, and its not a bug. Its an unintended side-effect of running a game that was originally 4:3 in a 16:9 resolution. I believe GZDoom should have an option somewhere to mitigate it. At the very least, run in minimal HUD mode. If you have further issues, post a screenshot and a lengthy explanation with what exactly is wrong and I will try to help you out.
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline 75

  • [IFOC] Server Admin
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 29
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 4231
    • IFOCSERV
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2015, 10:21:43 AM »
I have a feeling I know what your talking about, and its not a bug. Its an unintended side-effect of running a game that was originally 4:3 in a 16:9 resolution.

In case it's not clear, our guess is that you're trying to fix how the classic, DOS hud does not stretch to fit the screen in widescreen resolutions



If this is not the case, let us know... again we can be more helpful if you provide screenshots using http://imgur.com/ or a similar service

Alternatively if you're working on a port of Chex.exe from scratch, note that there are many options that are closer to vanilla DOS chex if zdoom is too far from the original for you:

The boom project: http://prboom.sourceforge.net/ (load it with fraggle's chex dehacked patch) http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/?file=utils/exe_edit/patches/chexdeh.zip

Chex runs on chocolate doom: http://www.chocolate-doom.org/wiki/index.php/Chex_Quest

Boom, Chocolate Doom, and G/ZDoom all support widescreen resolutions, there is no need to make your own port for that. Making your own port from scratch is a lot of work, it's up to you, but perhaps consider contributing to an existing port instead?
"Give us those nice bright colors, give us the greens of summer, makes you think all the world's a sunny day."

Want a place to talk about Chex Pack, or Chex Quest in general? Join #IFOC: irc://irc.zandronum.net/IFOC

Offline WindowsVistaLover5570

  • The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 359
  • Just call me Mupen.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2015, 03:54:15 AM »
*sigh* The graphics are too fuzzy and how do I take a screenshot in full screen.

Offline ChexMaster2109

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4307
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2015, 04:42:35 AM »
Too fuzzy is low resolution, which you can change from the options. For a screenshot, there's a key you can find under controls, or you can use PrintScreen
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline WindowsVistaLover5570

  • The Meaning of Life, the Universe, and Everything
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 359
  • Just call me Mupen.
Re: Hey guys :)
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2015, 04:56:29 AM »
Ok, nvm, I am working on a Zandronum server and the IP is 192.168.1.4:31. Oh, and sorry if I have bad grammar (I am still learning English.)
« Last Edit: July 05, 2015, 05:27:24 AM by WindowsVistaLover5570 »

 


Web Hosting by InMotion Hosting