Author Topic: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.  (Read 1055 times)

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 57
  • Posts: 2273
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« on: June 23, 2016, 12:06:35 AM »
The title says it all ... mostly.

Converting the levels from Vilecore to work with T.U.C.Q. is a very long and slow process, especially since it is something one only works on as a hobby.
Rather than forcing you to wait the absurd amount of time it will take to finish converting Vilecore, I decided to release the six currently completed levels for you to play with, three completed by me, three completed by TrueDude.

http://www.doomlegends.com/chexquest/VC4TUCQinterm1.zip

T.U.C.Q. R6 running under GZDooM is required.

Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. is obviously a work in progress.  The flemoids are unfinished. The Dervish, for example, currently uses the commonus sprites scaled up slightly, and the other DooM 2 monster replacements reuse existing sprites as well.  An old concept sketch of the flem balloon serves as a temporary sprite as well.
The levels have simply been retextured to work with T.U.C.Q.. No extra detailing has been added.

Give these levels a try, and give me your opinion and any suggestions on how to improve them you can think of.

Chex Quest Fan Forums

Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« on: June 23, 2016, 12:06:35 AM »

Offline Drwalrustein

  • Walrsuses
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 456
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2016, 02:45:08 PM »
Since I have played Vilecore before I liked to say this a very accurate conversion. The Texturing could use some work because some of the CQ textures don't look nice. Anyways I am pretty optimistic about this project so good luck.

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 57
  • Posts: 2273
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2016, 12:32:05 PM »
Any suggestion on where the levels can be improved?

Offline Awesomedude249

  • existing is for losers
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 2047
  • why
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2016, 07:45:47 PM »
I tried running it under TUCQ Release 6 with GZDooM, but it didn't work so I can't play it. :-\
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 57
  • Posts: 2273
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2016, 07:55:39 PM »
R6 as the IWAD, and VC4TUCQinterm1 as a pwad.

Are you using a launcher?

Offline Awesomedude249

  • existing is for losers
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 2047
  • why
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2016, 11:29:42 AM »
R6 as the IWAD, and VC4TUCQinterm1 as a pwad.

Are you using a launcher?
Nope, and Cheesy Doom won't recognize R6 as an IWAD. :-\
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 57
  • Posts: 2273
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2016, 01:00:58 PM »
Cheesy DooM?

T.U.C.Q. is for GZDooM.

http://gzdoom.drdteam.org/page.php?page=download

You can get the ZDL launcher at http://www.doomlegends.com/chexquest/zdl31a.zip

If you want to know how to get it working with ZDL, just ask, and I will let you know.   :)


Offline Drwalrustein

  • Walrsuses
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 456
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2016, 01:56:04 PM »
Yeah I had problems launching it until I used ZDL launcher.

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 57
  • Posts: 2273
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2016, 03:19:30 PM »
So it is working now?

Offline Awesomedude249

  • existing is for losers
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 27
  • Posts: 2047
  • why
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2016, 03:37:06 PM »
Cheesy sounds like GZ, thus Cheesy Doom = GZDooM
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 57
  • Posts: 2273
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2016, 04:30:08 PM »
Oh.

I'm not American.  I don't pronounce "Z" as "zee".

I pronounce "Z" as "zed" like the majority of the english speaking world, and "Cheesy DooM" sounds nothing like "Gee-Zed-DooM".

Sorry about that.


Offline Drwalrustein

  • Walrsuses
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 456
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2016, 05:12:09 PM »
Yeah Boingo it is working fine and great.

Offline darkstone

  • Modding... modding... pulling hair out... modding...
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 333
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2016, 01:12:38 AM »
Oh.

I'm not American.  I don't pronounce "Z" as "zee".

I pronounce "Z" as "zed" like the majority of the english speaking world, and "Cheesy DooM" sounds nothing like "Gee-Zed-DooM".

Sorry about that.
I use Zee.
I haven't gotten through most of the levels but I thought quadrumpus court was a little confusing. Otherwise, great.

Offline Nomekop

  • a.k.a. frozenLake
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 421
  • Flem Balloon (Flemoidus Hydrogenus)
Re: Vilecore for T.U.C.Q. Interm Release 1 Uploaded.
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2016, 12:26:06 PM »
"You need a red key to open this door!"

You mean the red key that only shows up on the secondary, "modern" hud?

EDIT: I'm a derp, I dragged both and loaded chex.wad as the IWAD using the other two as PWADs, which I ended up doing it correctly after making a batch file, where it worked fine.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2016, 12:31:42 PM by Nomekop »

 


Web Hosting by InMotion Hosting