Author Topic: GZDooM won't start.  (Read 2628 times)

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2088
  • I'm not really sure.
GZDooM won't start.
« on: July 13, 2016, 11:03:50 PM »
So I don't really know what to call this, but I want to play DooM Center and it requires an OpenGL renderer to play.
Now, I could use Zandronum, but sometimes Zandronum can be slow and it's a bit of a hassle for me, so I just use GZDooM instead.
So it gives me a weird resolution error every time I try to start it, and since I don't really have that much experience with GZDooM errors, I would appreciate it if someone could explain what this is and what I need to do to fix it. I'm assuming it's just a simple setting in Control Panel I need to adjust, and I was going to try googling it, but I don't really know what to google to find an answer to this and troubleshoot it.
Here's a video of said error (sorry for long wall of text:)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9CXpau5-8k" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9CXpau5-8k</a>
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Chex Quest Fan Forums

GZDooM won't start.
« on: July 13, 2016, 11:03:50 PM »

Offline Drwalrustein

  • Walrsuses
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 456
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2016, 11:45:19 PM »
Since it is a problem with the resolution, we need to know what size your monitor is. If it is anything lower than 1920x1080 than you got an actual problem.

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2088
  • I'm not really sure.
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2016, 12:08:47 AM »
Since it is a problem with the resolution, we need to know what size your monitor is. If it is anything lower than 1920x1080 than you got an actual problem.
My monitor can't go that high (I checked) so I'll just stick with Zandronum and see if that works.
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline darkstone

  • Modding... modding... pulling hair out... modding...
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 337
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2016, 11:17:47 AM »
Well, here, it's not a resolution error specifically, it's having OpenGL issues it seems.
http://forum.drdteam.org/viewtopic.php?t=6285
I dunno if this helps any, I'm a bit tired to look through all the Google results, but try Googling that error message (it can be copied and pasted out while the error window is open, just be sure to paste before closing it if it's like mine).
First option that comes up: GZDoom. ;)

Offline Boingo the Clown

  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 2467
  • Losing my grip on reality since 1973.
    • DooM Legends
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2016, 12:25:34 PM »
Since I always want as many people to play my mods as possible, it aggravates me when somebody is having technical issues, especially when I don't know how to help fix them.   >:(  :'(

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2088
  • I'm not really sure.
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2016, 02:50:59 PM »
Well, here, it's not a resolution error specifically, it's having OpenGL issues it seems.
http://forum.drdteam.org/viewtopic.php?t=6285
I dunno if this helps any, I'm a bit tired to look through all the Google results, but try Googling that error message (it can be copied and pasted out while the error window is open, just be sure to paste before closing it if it's like mine).
First option that comes up: GZDoom. ;)
OK. One question (one that probably seems stupid) do you need to have an nVidia graphics card to get their drivers?
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline Drwalrustein

  • Walrsuses
  • Cycloptis
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 456
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2016, 04:00:54 PM »
Yep you need an Nvidia graphics card to download Nvidia's drivers.

Offline 75

  • [IFOC] Server Admin
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 29
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 4235
    • IFOCSERV
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2016, 07:05:00 PM »
Hit Start, then type "dxdiag" to pull up the DirectX diagnostic tool, this will help you figure out what kind of card you have, it's on the "display" tab



This might sound like generic advice but update to the latest version of the driver available for your card. It made all the difference for me, I saw nothing but HOMs in gzDoom at first, and my driver was only several months old. After updating it runs perfectly.

Note that gzDoom does not like some ATI cards and Intel HD graphics cards, post your card's information here and I'll be able to give you more information on what you should do next.
"Give us those nice bright colors, give us the greens of summer, makes you think all the world's a sunny day."

Want a place to talk about Chex Pack, or Chex Quest in general? Join #IFOC: irc://irc.zandronum.net/IFOC

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2088
  • I'm not really sure.
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2016, 07:40:08 PM »
Hit Start, then type "dxdiag" to pull up the DirectX diagnostic tool, this will help you figure out what kind of card you have, it's on the "display" tab



This might sound like generic advice but update to the latest version of the driver available for your card. It made all the difference for me, I saw nothing but HOMs in gzDoom at first, and my driver was only several months old. After updating it runs perfectly.

Note that gzDoom does not like some ATI cards and Intel HD graphics cards, post your card's information here and I'll be able to give you more information on what you should do next.
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline 75

  • [IFOC] Server Admin
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 29
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 4235
    • IFOCSERV
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2016, 10:22:11 PM »
See if you can find a driver for your system here, I'm not sure what kind of CPU you have

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26078/Intel-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-10-and-Windows-7-8-1-15-40-?v=t
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 10:25:29 PM by 75 »
"Give us those nice bright colors, give us the greens of summer, makes you think all the world's a sunny day."

Want a place to talk about Chex Pack, or Chex Quest in general? Join #IFOC: irc://irc.zandronum.net/IFOC

Offline Awesomedude249

  • What am I supposed to put here?
  • Global Moderator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 2088
  • I'm not really sure.
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2016, 11:43:07 PM »
See if you can find a driver for your system here, I'm not sure what kind of CPU you have

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26078/Intel-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-10-and-Windows-7-8-1-15-40-?v=t
Intel Core i5-2500s CPU, 2.70 GHz
I used to be the new guy that no one talks to, now I'm just the vaguely familiar guy that no one talks to

Offline 75

  • [IFOC] Server Admin
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 29
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 4235
    • IFOCSERV
Re: GZDooM won't start.
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2016, 06:41:33 PM »
Try this

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24971/Intel-HD-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-7-8-64-bit

Your CPU is a second generation core i5, I'm not sure if that will run gzDoom 2.x but I can confirm that it did run gzDoom 1.x; let me know if the driver helps.
"Give us those nice bright colors, give us the greens of summer, makes you think all the world's a sunny day."

Want a place to talk about Chex Pack, or Chex Quest in general? Join #IFOC: irc://irc.zandronum.net/IFOC

 


Web Hosting by InMotion Hosting