Author Topic: Back from...nowhere  (Read 4556 times)

Offline chrismorris730

  • Ues the Bootspork ANY chance he gets
  • Bipedicus
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 69
  • In Soviet Russia, n00b pwns you!
Back from...nowhere
« on: September 15, 2008, 10:57:32 PM »
Like anyone noticed I was gone, but I got a new computer (with vista. blech.) and i'm gonna start playing CQ on the side again as I did during the summer.

What all have I missed? are there any new versions of the CQ lounge out? I'll lurk around for a bit to get caught up. I see CQ 3 is out. I'll be downloading that.

A couple questions: A) will CQ work at all on vista? and B) Will it work on linux? (if so, how? I'm gonna be trying out kubuntu tomorrow and i'd like to know what all I can do with it if we have any linux users here)

Thanks! :D

Chex Quest Fan Forums

Back from...nowhere
« on: September 15, 2008, 10:57:32 PM »

Offline Captain Ventris

  • Larva
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 217
  • ZDoom Wars now out!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 11:03:19 PM »
CQ3 is amazing, and the CQ Lounge is up to version 23.

Get on Ventris' Server when you can, lol.

Offline TheMasterOfBattle

  • The Forgotten Warrior
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 3643
  • I still got it.
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2008, 11:26:39 PM »
I know it works on vista (i have it), I have no idea about Linux though. :-\


Forgotten I may be, my legend will live on.

Offline chrismorris730

  • Ues the Bootspork ANY chance he gets
  • Bipedicus
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 69
  • In Soviet Russia, n00b pwns you!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2008, 11:37:10 PM »
And your server runs CQ on the weekends? I think i read that...

I know that braincandy is a linux user. I would assume that you could run it. I just need to know if you need an emu to do it.

and Version 23?!?! jeez. Last I knew it was version 12 i think. You guys have been busy. I'll have to copy all my stuff over tomorrow from the machine i used to play it on. i don't wanna have to download it all again  :-\
« Last Edit: September 15, 2008, 11:40:30 PM by chrismorris730 »

Offline TheMasterOfBattle

  • The Forgotten Warrior
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 3643
  • I still got it.
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2008, 11:39:37 PM »
I know that someone here is a linux user...i can't place her name off the top of my head but I remember her saying something about it. i'll find out in time :D
That would be Brain Candy


Forgotten I may be, my legend will live on.

Offline Dvader0086

  • It's not stupid! It's advanced!
  • Quadrumpus
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 850
  • Yep. The real me
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2008, 11:41:46 PM »
and yes they have doom generators that work on linux

Offline chrismorris730

  • Ues the Bootspork ANY chance he gets
  • Bipedicus
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 69
  • In Soviet Russia, n00b pwns you!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2008, 11:42:11 PM »
yes i literally JUST edited my post haha

Offline TheMasterOfBattle

  • The Forgotten Warrior
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 3643
  • I still got it.
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2008, 11:42:40 PM »


Forgotten I may be, my legend will live on.

Offline chrismorris730

  • Ues the Bootspork ANY chance he gets
  • Bipedicus
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 69
  • In Soviet Russia, n00b pwns you!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2008, 12:17:31 AM »
On a side note...i can't get CQ Lounge to run correctly. I have it set up identical to the way i had it on the other PC but all i get is Doom2 levels!

'Tis quite frustrating. I can't figure out why.

Code: [Select]
start gzdoom.exe -Iwad TNCQG2.wad -file CQloungev10.wad

That's in my batch file.

Offline The Green Avenger

  • Sudoku Black Belt
  • Ultimus
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 560
  • Legacy Loyalist
    • Chex Brigade!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2008, 12:19:20 AM »
Wait, what version of the lounge are you using?
Visit Chex Brigade, home of Chaos on Flemoid Prime!

The art of winning an argument is not so much proving your own point as it is systematically dismantling your opponent's point, leaving yours as the logical alternative.

Offline TheMasterOfBattle

  • The Forgotten Warrior
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 3643
  • I still got it.
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2008, 12:20:37 AM »
we are at CQlounge23 now.  clicky http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?hzjrni1x93m


Forgotten I may be, my legend will live on.

Offline chrismorris730

  • Ues the Bootspork ANY chance he gets
  • Bipedicus
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 69
  • In Soviet Russia, n00b pwns you!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2008, 12:24:56 AM »
oops i knew that i just returned it to the original code. I had CQLounge23 in there. It doesn't work anyway :/

Offline chrismorris730

  • Ues the Bootspork ANY chance he gets
  • Bipedicus
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 69
  • In Soviet Russia, n00b pwns you!
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2008, 12:32:40 AM »
Yeah i definitely forgot where i was running the Lounge variants, turns out i had all of them in a different folder, running properly.

FAIL.

EDIT: I lied. It still doesn't work. It's probably something so stupidly simple only I would forget about it.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 12:35:17 AM by chrismorris730 »

Offline Richie

  • Administrator
  • Flembrane
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 2852
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2008, 06:07:02 PM »
I'm an Ubuntu user.  :)

You can easily play the original Chex Quest on both Windows Vista and GNU/Linux by using DOSBox.  Most of our mods will also work on both operating systems, because there are both Windows and GNU/Linux versions of Doom Legacy, GZDoom, Skulltag, etc.  (Note: GZDoom only works in GNU/Linux if you compile it from the source code.)  Your problem will be with .WAD editing.  There are no good .WAD editors for Linux.  The few that exist are experimental.

Here's the link for DOSBox:
http://www.dosbox.com/

Offline TheMasterOfBattle

  • The Forgotten Warrior
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 3643
  • I still got it.
Re: Back from...nowhere
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2008, 06:24:10 PM »
I haven't needed to use Dos-Box to run CQ though. :-\


Forgotten I may be, my legend will live on.

 


Web Hosting by InMotion Hosting