Author Topic: Setting up a Linux server  (Read 6000 times)

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11809
  • Keelah se'lai
Setting up a Linux server
« on: February 18, 2012, 12:09:30 AM »
Okay, I've been running a Minecraft and Mumble server on my home PC for awhile now. Problem is that this home PC drains some serious juice running 24/7 for something as simple as 2 servers. I've been considering the other computers I have access to, and I think my PowerMac might fit the job.

Its a dual Processor 500mhz G4 with 768MB of RAM and an 80GB HDD. I'm planning on loading Linux on it, possibly Ubuntu 9.04 server (which has a powerPC build for Macs). I also want to just run Murmur server on it, as well as the minecraft server, possibly Bukkit. The system reqs for it aren't too terribly high, and hey, it'll be an experiment. If it doesn't work, I'll just go back to using my homepc, but...i'd rather not.

Anyone got ideas or guides on how to set this thing up?
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline MajorSlime

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4308
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2012, 01:59:52 AM »
Wait, is the server still up?

As far as actually setting Ubuntu up, can't help much there, but I'm fairly sure that setting up a Minecraft server (even Bukkit) on Linux should be pretty much exactly like doing it on windows, albeit ran in a different way.
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline xbolt

  • The Man with the Beard
  • Administrator
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 30
  • -Receive: 78
  • Posts: 12911
  • Honor the Fallen
    • The Page of Xbolt
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2012, 02:52:40 AM »
pretty much exactly like doing it on windows, albeit ran in a different way.

It's exactly like it! Except in the ways that it's different!

Offline MajorSlime

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4308
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2012, 02:58:53 AM »
XD

EDIT: it actually is quite easy; http://wiki.bukkit.org/Setting_up_a_server

The only thing different is actually running it, but setting up the plugin files and what not are the same.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2012, 03:00:28 AM by ChexMaster2109 »
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11809
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2012, 03:08:32 PM »
Thanks for some insight, guys. I'm going to attempt it.

Oh, and I forgot what hard drive I had stuck in there, but I boot it up...glorious sound of a 20GB Maxtor spin up and it loads OS 9.2. I've got a spare 80GB, so I'm going to put Linux on the 80 and keep OS 9 on the 20. For that more than rare moment I might actually want it to run OS 9 ^^

Now to find a CD and get experimenting.

Oh, another good thing: I discovered I had half a gig in my iMac G3, and since I don't have a place to set it up, I robbed it, and now have a full 1GB on the soon to be server. :D
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline MajorSlime

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4308
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2012, 03:16:53 PM »
Nice.

Hmm... I don't remember, is the Minecraft server a RAM hog like the client?
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline LAZ Trooper

  • Must... keep... mapping... o_o
  • Chex Master
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 53
  • -Receive: 23
  • Posts: 3420
  • Standing at the ready when Flemoids attack.
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2012, 05:06:49 PM »
If we get a Minecraft going, I really want to do a survival map with you guys and build a town and all that. It get's kind of lonely working on my little island farm.
Use the CQ IRC channel! (were it working...)

Current Projects:
Chex Quest: The Great Invasion (on hold)
Chex Quest Skulltag Pack - mapper
The Chex Crusades: Return to Bazoik
Map of Epic (unannounced. If you notice this and ask about, good for you. You won't get any information. And I am out o

Offline ChexCommander

  • #1 Bro President
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 70
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 10519
  • Stay classy, cats...stay classy
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2012, 05:53:08 PM »
Looks like it shouldn't be a problem for you. You've got all the directions for setting up the scripts, so get on it! ;)
"I don't cook, either. Not as long as they still deliver pizza." -Tiger Woods

Offline MajorSlime

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4308
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2012, 12:23:43 AM »
hmm...

If we set a server up again, could we put some nifty bukkit plugins in? Like, some game-changing ones? I only ask because after a while, normal survival gets kinda boring. You yourself admitted this Atari. Don't tell me your not tempted :P It's also the main reason I usually don't stay long :(
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11809
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2012, 12:32:15 AM »
-_-;

Its a private server that I just use when I've got nothing better to do.

The only thing I really want public is the Mumble server, but the people what are willing to use it already are using it.

I'm going to probably run bukkit because it runs a little nicer, and will probably work better on this non-Intel system...

and furthermore:

Somethings wrong with it.
I finally got the distro I liked installed, but its having this funny problem where the windows lose their title bars (with the max/min/close buttons), and start slowly sliding down the screen, as it redraws quite slowly, a few pixels at a time.

I've posted something on the distro's forums, but it doesn't appear to be very active...Supposedly, Xorg is used to manage everything, and on this release, Xorg can sometimes not install.

Well, if I try running the terminal to install it, it does this weird glitch.

I've found no other evidence of it online, nor any way to fix it.

I'd love BC to be here, but she's away from forums...
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline ChexCommander

  • #1 Bro President
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 70
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 10519
  • Stay classy, cats...stay classy
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2012, 12:44:36 AM »
I saw it with my own eyes. His terminal window SLID DOWN THE SCREEN AND UNDER THE MONITOR. By itself. O_O
"I don't cook, either. Not as long as they still deliver pizza." -Tiger Woods

Offline MajorSlime

  • Self-Proclaimed ACS Grandmaster
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Chex Master
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 4308
  • If life gives you lemons, give its lemons back!
    • Chex Quest: Reflections
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2012, 12:51:04 AM »
That's just strange, and anyways, @Minecraft server: aw.... oh well.
Shh!  I'm taking a break from reality.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish, but have eternal life!

Give God your life; You won't regret it!

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11809
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2012, 12:54:33 AM »
I'm going to snag some video of it before I try another OS on it. Its quite hilarious once you get over the "wtf" factor.
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline Atariangamer

  • Dormant User
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 55
  • Posts: 11809
  • Keelah se'lai
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2012, 08:22:51 PM »
So, I get Debian Wheezy up on the computer, SMP and all, and its running fine...

BUT OMG. FULL MANUAL GOOOOO. Its almost crazy how much I've already had to do, and I'm not even downloaded Murmur's code...

So I get the prompt, then try to sudo...no sudo. Okay, back to root account, install sudo. Switch back...not a sudoer. back to root, try using emacs (per Debian's wiki)...apt-get install emacs.

X_X

wow.
Don't remember me as I was...I was an idiot.

Offline ChexCommander

  • #1 Bro President
  • Multiplayer Team Leader
  • Snot Lord
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 70
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 10519
  • Stay classy, cats...stay classy
Re: Setting up a Linux server
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2012, 01:04:23 PM »
So, I get Debian Wheezy up on the computer, SMP and all, and its running fine...

BUT OMG. FULL MANUAL GOOOOO. Its almost crazy how much I've already had to do, and I'm not even downloaded Murmur's code...

So I get the prompt, then try to sudo...no sudo. Okay, back to root account, install sudo. Switch back...not a sudoer. back to root, try using emacs (per Debian's wiki)...apt-get install emacs.

X_X

wow.

Huh, no sudo or emacs/nano? Funny.
"I don't cook, either. Not as long as they still deliver pizza." -Tiger Woods

 


Web Hosting by InMotion Hosting